Serial Drama Withdrawal

I watched Lost like it was a religion. I turned off my phone when it was on. I warned my roommates to be silent, or die. When I started dating Annie (for those of you who don’t know, Annie is my fiance) I would admonish her for trying to contact me during that hour. Eventually, I turned her as well, and she joined me in my fanatical viewing of that fantastic program.

We ate up the mystery, always taking in each little crumb that Damon Lindelof and crew fed us each week. We would discuss it; we would argue about it. We would fall in love with the heroes, and despise the villains. When the show came to a tear-filled ending in 2010 we were more than satisfied with the series’ conclusion.

And yes, I know they didn’t answer all the questions they raised, but what’s the fun in that?

After it ended, we got our lives back. Our weeks were no longer spent simply waiting for the next fix. We still watched television, because television (scripted television) has never been better than it is now. But we didn’t have that obsessive need to “chase the dragon.” I started writing more. Ann discovered a long dormant talent for nail art. Things were looking up.

Then it happened…The zombie apocalypse.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, then you clearly haven’t been watching The Walking Dead and I want nothing to do with you. I got season 1 on DVD for Christmas 2011. I actually think it’s still in the cellophane wrap (I just checked, it is not). I got it, I wanted to watch it. I also got the first season of Justified, and I haven’t watched that either. Then I was seeing what was new on Netflix and there was the first 2 seasons of The Walking Dead.

What the hell, I thought, I’ll give it a shot. Then I couldn’t stop. I pulled Annie in with me, prodded her to watch it. Within a week we had watched the first 2 1/2 seasons. Then we realized we had 29 days until the next episode. 29 days! It hurts, it hurts so fucking bad. I miss Daryl, Rick, Carl, Glen, Carol, Maggie, and Hershel.

I have learned my lesson, this time. I will not watch another dramatic series until it is completely finished, so I don’t have to go through this hell. I hear Breaking Bad is great.

3 thoughts on “Serial Drama Withdrawal

    1. Did you just laugh at the brilliant writing and deceitful characters of Dallas?! It is exciting, sir! (BTW, I have seen the first episode of Sherlock and I enjoy it)

Leave a Reply

