This Week…

Happy Monday, dear Readers! It’s going to be a good week, isn’t it? I have some real fun stuff planned for this week. I’ve got not 1, but 2 huge interviews coming to you this week. Who with? You’ll just have to wait and see. I’ll just say this, they both hail from our neighbors to the North, Canada. I also will be starting a new feature, which will only be appearing a couple of times a year, but it’s the nature of the beast. On Thursday or Friday I will be posting my picks for the 55th Annual Grammy Awards. I hope to make this a regular feature with award season, I also hope it sparks some debate and we get some comments going.

I mean it, as much as I love to hear from myself (and I do) I truly want to hear from my readers. And not just what you like. I want to hear what you disagree with. I want to hear what you don’t like. I want to hear your thoughts, opinions, corrections. I want to know that what I’m writing is connecting with you, and making you laugh.

On a completely unrelated note, my fiance and I have started a 2 person book club, in which we’re going to take turns making each other read our favorite books. It was her idea, so we’re going with one of her choices first. The title is The Center of Everything by Laura Moriarty. I’m looking forward to this experience, because it’s forcing me to step out of my boundaries. I would never choose, on my own, to read a coming-of-age tale about a 10 year-old girl, but I may end up loving it and it will open my eyes up to a whole new world of literature. So I’ll keep you posted, dear reader on the status of our 2-person book club, as it may be the status of our relationship (just kidding, honey).

At last, this week after much ado, I will posting my first Too Little, Too Late movie review this week. I hope it turns out as funny as the initial idea was in my head. I want you all to be completely honest with me after you read it. My tentative first choice for review is The Grey, starring Liam Neeson. If I change my mind about that, you’ll find out this week when I post the review. I have that ability, I’m the boss of the blog. In fact, I printed up 12,000 business cards that say so.

Finally, I would like to say a few words about last nights little football game. I don’t follow football. I enjoy watching sports as much as the next guy, but last night’s game literally had me on the edge of my seat. Eventually. The first half was a real bore and I was glad I worked until 7 and could FF through all of it. Then Beyonce came out and performed, and I gotta say I was ready to hate her. She lip synched at the President’s inaugural event and that’s just wrong. Keep in mind, I didn’t even vote for Obama, and I think it’s wrong. It just shows a lack of respect for the office. But that doesn’t matter, because she killed that half-time show, and she looked damn sexy doing it. She didn’t make the mistakes of Madonna or Janet Jackson and try to get all showy (though there was plenty of spectacle). She understood that the majority of people watching the Super Bowl are young men, straight men. Men who like T & A. So she sang her pop songs and showed off her legs and shook her ass and gave everyone what they wanted. And I completely forgot why I was mad at her.

Then in the second half (once they figured out how to line up the batteries) things actually got interesting. We had a real exciting contest on our hands and the San Francisco 49ers showed us all why they deserved to be playing at the Super Bowl. They couldn’t quite get past the Baltimore Ravens’ defense, led by a homicidal Ray Lewis, but not for lack of trying. So to fans of the 49ers I want to say, don’t despair. Your team played hard, but they had no choice, but to lose. Chances are Lewis had their families tied up in his basement, waiting to kill them all execution style if his Ravens lost.

 

 

M.R. Scully

 

Leave a Reply

