This Happened To My Beautiful Dog Today

I have a dog (really I have 2, but this is just a post about the one, so let’s forget the other for the time being) (Shit, that’s a long parenthetical). My dog is a black lab/greyhound mix, and he is a beauty to behold. He is sleek, streamlined, and sweet. He’s also a terrible coward, but that’s neither here nor there. I’m going to jump into the meat and potatoes, because that’s how I roll.

Fergus (oh, that’s his name, I forgot to mention that) got out of the house this afternoon. He ran across the street to the park/pond. Well, that was his intention, anyway. He did make it to the pond, but not how he envisioned it. You see, a driver came speeding by and struck my dear Fergus with her car. She says she wasn’t speeding, but she hit Fergus hard enough to send him flying over 20 feet into the Buckingham Pond, and to break the license plate from her car. The driver sped off, my fiance jumped into the pond to pull our frightened and shaking dog from the water.

My mother-in-law to be then loaded poor Fergus into a car. This is when the offending driver returned. She apologized, and inquired about the dog’s well-being. My fiance, understandably, confronted the woman, who denied she was speeding. By the way, there is a stop sign only one block from the incident, so I don’t see how she could have hit the dog that hard, so close to a stop sign, unless she was speeding. Anyway, Annie (oh, that’s my fiance’s name) sped off to the animal hospital, but before she did, the woman pledged to leave her information in our mail box.

On the drive, Fergus stopped breathing. Annie saved him by performing mouth-to-snout resuscitation. They made it to the hospital, and Fergus was seen by the doctors. Fergus suffered no apparent broken bones, but he did have a pneumothorax (air in the tissue that surrounds the lungs, making it difficult to breathe) and bruised lungs. It is still unclear at this late hour if he will need to be placed on a breathing apparatus. He suffered bruising elsewhere internally, and may have internal bleeding. It will be a long and tense night.

And now I begin my search for the woman who wounded my dog. Those of you who own dogs understand. Fergus is not a pet, he is a member of the family, as beloved as my own child would be. I will find the person responsible and I will see them punished to the fullest extent of the law.

The description of the woman can be found here, in the ad Annie posted on Craigslist. If you have any information that could help and want to help bring a real creep to justice, feel free to comment, email, tweet, or call.

Thank you.

 

 

M.R.Scully

Leave a Reply

